Awards galore at the 2014 Presentation Day

Updated: October 23, 2014

It was a great year for the Magic in 2014. 2 teams, 2 Grand Finals and 1 Premiership Flag capped off a great year for both on and off the field. This year, there were many achievements to celebrate and none more so than another Premiership Flag in Division Five. The Blacktown Magic AFC Presentation day was held last Sunday at the Ettamogah Hotel and it was a relaxed afternoon celebrating the achievements of the club over the last 12 months.


In the short history of the Magic, we have achieved the following:

– 4 out of a possible 5 Grand Finals (2012 Div 3, 2013 Div 3, 2014 Div 2 & 2014 Div 5)

– 2 Premiership flags (2013 Div 3, 2014 Div 5)

– 1 Minor Premiership (2013 Div 3)

– 3 Sydney AFL Divisional Best and Fairest Runner Ups (2012 Div 3, 2014 Div 2 & 2014 Div 5)

– 2 Sydney AFL Divisional Leading Goal Kickers (2013 Div 3 & 2014 Div 2)

– Sydney AFL Leading Goal Kicker (2013)

– Australian Swisse AFL Club of the Year 2013

– First AFL Club in NSW/ACT to obtain Gold Level Accreditation for Swisse Quality Club 2013

– Bronze, Silver & Gold Level Accreditation for Swisse Quality Club

– Blacktown City Council Sporting Club of the Year 2013

– White Ribbon Community Supporter

– Beyond Blue Community Supporter




The Division Five team took out the flag in a very much dominate performance against Penrith Rams in their maiden Grand Final appearance and the club recognised this achievement by presenting all the squad members with a personalised Premiership Guernsey as a memento for their achievement. The club paid special mention to all the volunteers and committee for their valued contribution to the club throughout the year.

President John Clifford reiterated the special community and family based culture we all have at the club and that it is an exciting period for all involved, with the Magic looking to expand with U/19’s, Women’s and possibly a third Men’s team in 2015.

Special mentions must go to Kent Weir, who made it back to back Best and Fairest’s awards with another stellar year in the midfield in Division Two and first Year player Scott Coombes, who took out the double for Reserve Grade, with the Best and Fairest and Players Player awards going his way.  Ash Moeller also took out the club’s Leading Goal Kicking award for the second year running as well.




A full list of the award winners are listed below and we congratulate them on their achievements:

First Grade Award Winners (Division 2)

• Best & Fairest – Kent Weir

• Runner Up Best & Fairest – Ash Moeller

• Players Player – Daniel Lim

• Rookie of the Year – Mitch Hinchcliffe

• Leading Goal Kicker – Ash Moeller

• Club Leading Goal Kicker – Ash Moeller

• Golden Fist – Dave Bertram

• Most Improved – Tim Baracz

• Magic Commitment Award – Ben Akmens


Reserve Grade Award Winners (Division 5)

• Best & Fairest – Scott Coombes

• Runner Up Best & Fairest – Henry Button

• Players Player – Scott Coombes

• Rookie of the Year – Dan Armstrong

• Leading Goal Kicker – John Lane

• Golden Fist – Aaron Hill

• Most Improved – Jared Clifford

• Magic Commitment Award – Dean Barber



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *